Ultimate Rabbit Colors for Dummies Thread

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Susie570

Reaction score
I expect this thread to be a bit scattered, going off on tangents and such, but let's try to get something worthy of a 'sticky' here.

A simple, clear explanation of rabbit colors. What the different terms mean, picture examples, etc.

I'm afraid to post much because I'm still learning, but some of you folks are experts on the subject so... I expect help here. ;) Please feel free to correct my errors!!

Most of this will be redundant, but it would be good to have it all in one place!

Hopefully, in the end, we'll actually have something that can be organized into a very helpful thread.

I'll start.

There are three major things to consider when trying to name the color of a rabbit.

The first is coat pattern. There are seven different coat patterns: Agouti, Self, Shaded, Tan, Ticked Pointed and Wideband.

The second is the actual color of the rabbit's coat. There are only TWO base colors for a rabbit coat, Black and Yellow. These two colors can either be 'Dilute' or 'Not Dilute' (generally speaking, if dilute is not mentioned, it is not considered dilute). From these two colors, we get a wide variety of subcolors.