Rabbit Taxidermy

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Celice

Reaction score
Okay, so here is an odd topic.

Mounted rabbits have always fascinated me. I remember the first thing I saw that was dead on a wall was a Jackalope (and my young naive mind believed the old man at the counter that the thing was a real animal) and now that I am older now look at some mounted rabbits and it look like something the cat dragged in. All guggaly-eyed and fur falling off this kind of mount if fondly called 'Taxi-derpy' (I dare you to Google the term).

I am a self taught taxidermist and now I can see how hard it can be to mount such thin skinned animals. So, as a smart person that wills myself to get the easy animals; I've started to mount rabbits and wanted to show you my most recent WIP of a rabbit I've started.

my customer wanted those pretty sea-blue eyes:

rabbit_soft_mount_wip_by_tricksters_taxidermy-d8dngc8.jpg

tell me what you guys think!?

I'll be posting my other WIPs as I work.

I think domestic rabbits are one of the most difficult animals to mount convincingly. It's not like there are forms that match their shapes. I'd considered casting some, but all bunnies are shaped a bit different. hmmm...

You should be able to re-hydrate as many times as necessary, but in areas that you want to keep supple (if it's to be soft sculpture) it will need re-broken as it dries.
If it helps, I do have some reference photos of close relatives.

I don't have to be as sneaky about my stuff on here, since there is far less demand for tanned pelts than there was on DA.
I just didn't want anyone over there thinking I was back "in the game" and start requesting things again...:oops:

I actually just finished skinning a pair of 11 month old pygmy wethers. I didn't lifesize them though, just took backhides with tails, ears, and one really interestingly marked face.