Male pulling fur?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bigrockfarm

Reaction score
What are the odds that a male would pull fur?
We had a litter born at the end of July 2021. I thought this one was a male. We were going to keep him for breeding. I am VERY new to rabbits so I am not skilled at sexing them.
Sometime in early January, one of the kids did not latch his cage properly and he escaped. I didn't see him, so I feared the worst.
Then, about a week ago... my neighbor called and said my rabbit was living the good life in his hay barn. Also 2 other rabbits were there that did not belong to me.
So, fast forward to this morning. I went to feed him. He has pulled hair and stashed it in the corner with the little bit of hay he had in there. He is in a bad mood, growling at me.
I gave him a nest box just in case lol
so my guess is, this buck is actually a doe. Is there anything that would cause a male to nest and act aggressively?

I have never had a buck pull his fur. Shed a lot, yeah, but pulled and stashed in the corner? Nope.

I'd assume he is a doe and pregnant. Pregnant does can often become grunty and more territorial because of the hormones in her body. Are you able to sex him to confirm? You can post the photos here of the genitals if you are unsure. But it does sound like the famous Sex Fairy came and turned your buck into a doe!

Because (s)he was also exposed to the other 2 rabbits, I would also suggest keeping this rabbit in quarantine away from the rest of your herd if you've not already done so. Same with the 2 rabbits, if you got to take them home, too.

I have never had a buck pull his fur. Shed a lot, yeah, but pulled and stashed in the corner? Nope.