Wood or wire pens

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kilgo

Reaction score
Hi, im new to rising rabbits,and want to know what would be better to house them in, wood or wire.Thanks for all the feed back

Hi Kilgo!

:welcomewagon:

Wire is much more sanitary than wood.

Rabbits will pee and poop on the wood and will also chew it if they can reach it.

If you can hang the cages so the droppings fall to the ground it is the easiest method of all for raising rabbits.

You can view some of our member's setups here:

gallery/album.php?album_id=8

MamaSheepdog":3alowv33 said:
Wire is much more sanitary than wood.

Rabbits will pee and poop on the wood and will also chew it if they can reach it.

If you can hang the cages so the droppings fall to the ground it is the easiest method of all for raising rabbits.
:goodpost: If you get cages with the proper kind of wire, it's not at all hard on the rabbits' feet, although you might prefer to use resting boards in the cages with larger breeds of rabbits. (Mine just chew on them and fling them around as toys rather than actually resting on them.) Also, wire cages are FAR easier to keep clean than any other flooring type.

I prefer the wood but all of my rabbits are litter trained so we don't get any issues on that side of things. As for chewing, only our male tries to chew on his cage.

I have both. I have a wood hutch housing my lionhead and a wire cage housing my Dutch. Based on my experiences, the wood hutch will be transitioned into quarantine housing only.

The wire cage has soo much going for it- easier to clean, easier to keep an eye on the buns, better air circulation, the buns don't chew the wire.

Good luck with whatever you choose Kilgo, and welcome to RT!

Wood, looks more natural and i think it's more friendly for them.