How do buyers react to line-breeding?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bantambunnies

Reaction score
I have never used line-breeding before, but I'm considering it. I'm wondering, though - how do potential buyers react to seeing the same rabbits more than once on a pedigree? In particular, a partial pedigree which is made up of only a few rabbits?

As long as you explain the reasons behind it (i.e. setting good traits, limiting the genetic roulette factor), there shouldn't be a problem.

If you sell to other rabbit breeders there shouldn't be any raised eyebrows at all.

Those who know and are experienced with Rabbits
would not question line-breeding.
How else would you perfect a particular breed/line?
Ottersatin. :eek:ldtimer:

I am more reassured as a buyer when a breeder shows me a pedigree and I see some names repeating on the page. ;) Only pet buyers and people who don't understand breeding would be upset, and even then most won't care much I don't think.

I've sold to people who, once explained, were just fine with it but I know there are others out there who just can't get passed the "incest" part of it and that's on them. I'm not going to sit there and try to convince someone to buy something as I don't make a living on them buying from me. I'll either sell or I'll eat it, one or the other :)

Honestly, I prefer to see linebreeding. That these rabbits were so good, the breeder wanted to use them again after seeing how the kits turned out makes me want to have rabbits related to them. And if I see a pedigree full of different names, it means that these rabbits were sold, and since breeders don't usually sell their best rabbits, that these rabbits were not descended from the best rabbits.