Baby bunnies eating momma's poop

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ljslibby

Reaction score
I've got a litter of 5, its my first time with a litter and first time with rabbits too so I'm in unfamiliar territory.

I caught my 2 week 2 day old kit eating her momma's poop (regular round poop) and when i googled it it said that they should be eating their momma's caecotrophs but no mention of the regular poop. Whats going on is this normal, should i have stopped it, or is it good for them??

On another note with that, they've already all started leaving the nest and running around and I read they should stay in the nest until 3 weeks so what can i do about that? they can hop in and out of the nest on their own so its not a worry that theyll get stuck out there im just more concerned as the doe keeps thumping since they harrass her for feedings and she doesn't want to feed them. She nearly thumped on a baby once and it gave me a heart attack. (baby was okay but it was a scary experience)

I've started bringing babies in for a bit to give her alone time but i worry i'll bring them in when she wants to feed them and theyll miss a feeding, she already isn't feeding them super well and never has (they dont have super round bellies but theyre surviving) so i dont want to risk them getting even less milk by interrupting feeding schedules. I've tried supplement feeding but they just wont take to it and it ends up all over them rather than in their stomachs.

just looking for general advice on these things thank you!

Usually the does only feed twice per 24 hours and some even only once. That is around sunrise and sunset, so not seeing her feed but having growing kits is no worry.
Once the kits get mobile enough to venture out they will try to snatch more food i.e. milk untill they get well into the food the doe eats.