Persistent ear mites

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joe n TN

Reaction score
I have one buck that just can not get rid of ear mites. This is a stud buck, he is not for eating. I've been treating him for about three months with different holistic remedies. The most recent regimen has been 50/50 olive oil and tea tree oil 3-4 drops in the ears every other day for three weeks. Cage and hutch has been washed.

I've gotten rid of ear mites from other rabbits, no problems. I am not looking for other holistic remedies at this time.

Website I found recommended Ivermectin 0.4 mg/kg administered three times at two week intervals.

Does anyone have any advice in this treatment? Have you used a medicine that worked better? What was the dosage?

Joe

There is a simple cheap solution - Listerine moutwash.

I've used it on cats , dogs & rabbits with great success.

Just pour a small amount on the affected area , repeat once a week for three weeks to ensure the infestation doesn't return.

The reproductive cycle of ear mites is about 21 days. If you don't repeat the application , they will return.

I definitely have to try this thanks! I ended up taking our poor Sam to the vet (cat) and he's got a horrible case that even the vet EM meds aren't budging ugh.

Ramjet: Can you use any brand of mouth wash or does it have to be L?

Rebel.Rose.Rabbitry":2on8rp8x said:
I definitely have to try this thanks! I ended up taking our poor Sam to the vet (cat) and he's got a horrible case that even the vet EM meds aren't budging ugh.

Ramjet: Can you use any brand of mouth wash or does it have to be L?

I don't know about other brands , I know for a fact Listerine works and works on rabbit , cat & dog.

I used it on my Persian cats for years ... sadly I no longer have them as my wife decided they had to go .... or I had to go with them.