wet bum? + baby eating poo Q?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nyctra

Reaction score
I noticed this kit's been hiding in the corner under the feeder a lot the past couple days, so I picked it up and surprise, surprise it was all wet. :shock: I'm pretty sure this isn't from jumping in the water bowl, so pee?
Could it be because the litter (still have all 13!) is so big that it doesn't get any of the oats I toss in the nestbox for them, so it's having problems?
I don't know, I'm new to all this... ^__^;

edit; I brought it in and cleaned it up. Its poo is kinda yellowish and wet. :/ http://i45.tinypic.com/2yki8sn.jpg

edit; Alsooo, why do baby bunnies have a craving for mama's poo? Is there something in it they need?

Well, it died. First time for everything I guess.

Attachments

• 9-8-wet-bum.png
    9-8-wet-bum.png
    458.1 KB · Views: 1,181
They need the good bacteria in moms poo to establish the gut flora (sp) necessary to digest foods.

Looks like the start of weaning enteritis

My kits are making the transition to eating pellets by 2 1/2 weeks. I lost a doe and had ten kits to care for at 3 weeks, and I only lost one kit, that got sick when she did. They were all eating pellets by then, and hay.

Do you think covering mama's poop corner so the kits can get the poo before it falls through could help? :?
I checked all the butts, the runt's is the only one that's wet.
Is there a good chance it will recover from this? If not I'd rather take it for dog chow now than find it dead and spoiled later...

Get some probiotics (like yogurt) into that baby, along with some fiber. Good Luck!
3 week old Californian Rabbit babies eating yogurt
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VKFZ7JhB8Bw

__________ Sun Sep 09, 2012 3:47 am __________

this may seem odd, but since pigs have a lot of commercial documentation, this link may help