Year of the Water Rabbit 2023

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Heartbased Homestead

Reaction score
Hi rabbit folk! My name is Renee, I am the matriarch of a millennial family with three gen alpha children and a husband who supports us so I can waste more time taking chances, making mistakes, and getting messy. Half traditional, half trend setter; almost no one approves yet almost everyone follows suit eventually. Such is life, other's validation usually means you're playing too small anyways.

I've been planning for meat rabbits since last year. Had a few pet rabbits in my childhood, always a pleasure to deal with such gentle, loving, and easy creatures. In many ways, they must be the perfect livestock. But I know nothing, I've never done any other husbandry before. When I had pet rabbits I had mini lops, for a few years I had 2 in an outdoor hutch with a hedgehog! They got along surprisingly well, and it was very much a source of therapy for me to nurture those sweetie pies and see them nurture each other across species. Now that I'm in my adulthood, pets are a luxury I can't afford - not in this economy with a young family, anyway - and I haven't issue with dispatching and cooking these childhood favorites (Cali's rather than lops this time). The kids don't seem too worried about it either, we watched many dispatches and cleanings online, and the first handful were difficult but now we are weathered to the idea.