will rabbits chew wood on inside of hutch ?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fishbone

Reaction score
hi,
i'm just getting started on build a wood, free standing hutch.
should i run all my hardware cloth/wire on the inside so thay can't chew on the wood.
or is this not a big issue ?

i'm not using treated wood.

thx,
dave

hahaha yes. They will chew the wood. Hardware cloth may stop it. 1" square cage wire does not - my NZR buck is trying to eat my bunny barn, and it's outside his cage :p.<br /><br />__________ Sat Dec 14, 2013 7:23 pm __________<br /><br />Although, for what it's worth, none of the other rabbits in the shed have been chewing the walls, and they all touch them(cages are hung on nails that are into the support posts of the walls.)

Some of my rabbit chew wood others do not. I have some wood in one cage that is covered with hardware cloth (1/4 or 1/2) and the buck doesn't touch it. I don't have any hutches but I have several wood feeders that get the occasional nibble. On 1 of them though the doe is tearing it to pieces lol.

i'll keep the wire inside.
i was going to use 1/2'' x 1/2'' on the floor, and a little bigger on the sides and top.

would it be better to use the 1/2'' x 1/2'' on the whole thing, so they can't chew any wood at all ?

thx for your input.
dave

I would use the 1/2" hardware cloth around the posts at least, though you could use it all over. Hardware cloth is not good for bunny tootsies though, as it often has sharp pointy pieces at the welds, and is thinner gauge than regular wire, making the rabbits more inclined to get sore hocks. I would get 1" x 1/2" cage wire for the floor.

man, i'm glad i asked.

great idea on running the sheet metal up the post.

i was thought i needed to use the small 1/2'' x 1/2'' for the floor, because of their feet.
but, if you say it has those share edges, thats not good.