When is the best time to process rabbits?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Philip

Reaction score
I have some meat rabbits that need to be processed the lady I bought the mom and dad from told me to process at 10 weeks? Dose that sound right? Their a mix of giant Flemish and new Zealand. They look small to me but this is my first time processing rabbits. Any help would be great!

First off, welcome to the forum!!! There is no hard and fast rule about when to process...some like 10 weeks, I personally wait to 16 weeks because I want to evaluate for possible show-quality rabbits. :) Some people prefer to wait longer, it all depends on what works best for you. :)

Sometimes they will look awfully small compared to their doe. Maybe try weighing them? Most folk with commercial-type stock aim for about five pounds before they dress them out.

Best of luck and let us know how it goes! :)

8-12 weeks or 5 pounds seem to be good guidelines to start with. I usually start looking at them at 10 weeks and when I feel they are big enough, I just process them on the first convenient day.

When they hit 5lbs. Different breeds and mixes will get there at a different time so you can't say butcher at x weeks unless you are talking a good standard commercial breed like pure NZ or cali from good meat stock.

I butcher at 8 weeks, no special reason it is just how we done it as long as I can remember.
when I get my heard back up and start breeding again. I will wait for them to reach 10 to 12 weeks.
I want to see if the extra few weeks will produce a better quality rabbit.

CWD":3jtijlzg said:
I butcher at 8 weeks, no special reason it is just how we done it as long as I can remember.
when I get my heard back up and start breeding again. I will wait for them to reach 10 to 12 weeks.
I want to see if the extra few weeks will produce a better quality rabbit.