What in the stars is this color/how does it happen?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Millinex

Reaction score
:pancake: So I picked up a grab bag of bunnies recently at auction. One of which was this 8-9 week old lop cross (as they call it). His eyes are actually red- and not blue, but the rest of the color is kinda correct.. so he's like a light chocolate with... red eyes?

Now I'm no expert in rabbit genetics- but generally in snakes for instance if it's albino- it will be white/orange/yellow, and in other animals the same thing seems to hold true. What ends up having other coloration, but red eyes is called a paradox.

So brown with red eyes... what in the stars would he have been? Sorry, I ended up selling him off (don't need more bucks ya know) but I still wonder...

Attachments

• 00E0E_ft7NkclCNH_600x450.jpg
    00E0E_ft7NkclCNH_600x450.jpg
    42.8 KB · Views: 356
He's a chinchilla. He was red eyed, you say?

__________ Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:53 am __________

Sorry, he looks like a squirrel.<br /><br />__________ Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:53 am __________<br /><br />Either that or a blue chinchilla.

There are several possibilities.

His eyes are not really the red seen in red eyed whites and Himilayan but likely due to the shaded gene.

i believe he is a shaded silver tipped steel chocolate agouti or possibly a shaded silver tipped steel lynx

NOT a recognized colour in any breed but one of the funky ones that pops out when rabbits are allowed to breed randomly.

The only other possibility is he's a Lutino (the same gene causes pink instead of black eyes in rodents) but this gene is EXTREMELY rare in North America.

Very cool colour though :D