Tricolor really "Fourcolors"?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Backintorabbits

Reaction score
]Hi, I am new to mini rex and new to tricolors. I bred a black-orange and white doe to a booted orange, chocolate and white buck. I got 2 nicely marked kits, one I think is a chocolate and orange and the other a orange and black tri. But now that they are 3 weeks old, I have noticed that the orange and black kit also has a couple of patches of "cream" in addition to black and orange. Its not a lighter orange, it more resembles the color on an otter, creamy yellow-white. Is it possible that a tricolor could also be an otter or what? Should I cull a rabbit like this from my stock? What about litter mates? I'll try to post a picture soon.

I can't seem to get my image size reduced. I have the picture in my gallery, but can't get it posted. Really frustrating. Sorry - I'll try again later.

Backintorabbits":tc91yryt said:
]Hi, I am new to mini rex and new to tricolors. I bred a black-orange and white doe to a booted orange, chocolate and white buck. I got 2 nicely marked kits, one I think is a chocolate and orange and the other a orange and black tri. But now that they are 3 weeks old, I have noticed that the orange and black kit also has a couple of patches of "cream" in addition to black and orange. Its not a lighter orange, it more resembles the color on an otter, creamy yellow-white. Is it possible that a tricolor could also be an otter or what? Should I cull a rabbit like this from my stock? What about litter mates? I'll try to post a picture soon.

If I can figure out how to insert an image - it there a tutorial?

What is the pedigree of the parents? In order to be an otter, one parent would have to have had an otter parent. Aat Agouti -A Otter-at