Starve Out

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Look at how often I'm posting now. I'm so needy. An apparent side-effect of Rabbitosis, which has now infected the entire family here.

So, I brought the box inside, took all the kits out, discovered there are TEN kits instead of my previous count of eight, and everyone looks fed except for one (I studied Maggie's Fed vs Unfed pics). That one is active and strong and always looking for the nipple. I suspect it was just stuck on the bottom of the pile. When I put the kits back in, I put that one on top, but who knows if it'll stay there. Is there anything else I should do?

to_post.jpg

If you feel inclined to intervene, try to put that kit on top at the time the doe usually feeds them. If you don't know when, does typically feed around dusk and dawn.

Another thing you could do is remove the fat kits to another box outside the cage and let the skinny one get a dedicated feeding. You might have to leave a few in there with it so it can stay warm. Sometimes one or two good feedings is all it takes to help it get enough strength to compete.

The other option is just to let nature take its course. If it doesn't pick up in the next day or so, culling is a possible answer. Nine is still a very nice litter. I hope I don't sound heartless . . . I admit I've never culled a kit that wasn't clearly suffering.

Either let it go and not waste the effort on it, or let half of the fattest kits skip a feeding by removing them to a temporary nest to give the straggler a chance at a teat.