Sores/crusted areas on back of neck and hind legs

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hoosier

Reaction score
The skinny doe I posted about has sores on both hind legs below her hocks. Though I am brand new to the rabbit world, I wonder if these are caused by the wire cage. The sores have been there awhile and are thickened with scabs. I can tell they hurt her by the way she sits attempting to keep pressure off the areas by bringing her legs far under her body. They are about 1" long and 1/2" wide. The previous owner had small rubber pads in the cages. Since we do not have any yet, there is hay for them to rest on. How should I treat these areas? Should I put hay over the entire cage floor and change it daily? Should I put newspaper or paper feed bags on the cage floor? This doe has started eating. I trimmed her toenails today and they were very long and some had started to curl up. I nearly cried when I saw them and along with feeling her ribs. This doe is bright and alert otherwise. I thought it may be possible that there is a relationship b/w these sores and her long toenails.
She and the other 2 does and buck have tiny crusted areas on their necks that I noticed when petting them. I don't know what these are. I am proud to say that I trimmed everyone's nails today by myself and the rabbits were quite agreeable :) . I appreciated their patience and cooperation since they were dealing with a newbie (but a gentle newbie). Some of their nails were so long. When speaking to the young man at Rural King last night, let's just say that the previous owner's husbandry practices aren't the best so I don't know if that has anything to do with the sores on the neck or not.