Smilie-Spidey? Arachnophobes Need Not View.

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MamaSheepdog

Reaction score
I have an interesting orb-weaving spider living in my BunnyBarn. I have never seen a spider like this before. Her abdomen is larger than a dime, and nearly the size of a nickel. Any ideas what kind of spider she is?

Legs extended in normal position:

IMG_1873.JPG

Camera shy, legs tucked up:

IMG_1876.JPG

Tegan":1hiq9jy0 said:
I'm not an expert, but....looks like a cat-faced spider.

I just googled cat-faced spider, and the description matches. In profile, we thought the abdomen looked like a shell, with pointy projections on the "hips". The points are less noticeable now that the spider is larger.

Thanks! She is pretty creepy looking, but is up and out of the way, so I didn't want to bother her. :)

Yeah, harmless and good for insect control. One of the pictures I saw of them could have been a twin for yours, so I'm PRETTY sure that's what you have.

i was chased incessantly by my brothers holding them in their hands as a child. To this day spiders on me or in buildings freaks me out. My two sisters are complete archnaphobes....I undertook a study of spiders as a young teen to help me get over my fear of them. I can't stand them in the house, and on me.. well...let's just say I'm not a calm person at that time. But outside I can easily admire them. I've got three or four ones this size in my rabbitry. They do an excellent job of fly control.

I don't care for spiders, but I don't hate them anymore than any other insect. They leave sticky surprises in unexpected places. As for fly control, I have not seen a single fly in a web as of yet, my spiders are useless except for crawling out when I least expect them, so they get killed like everything else.