senior project

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

i<3bunnies

Reaction score
I am a highschool student who needs some help. I need to do a senior project to graduate and I thought of starting a "bunny farm" to complete this task. I am a freshman so I have time to set it up but I was wondering if there were some regulations or rules I had to follow if I were to sell the rabbits for meat? Also, which would be a better choice? Selling them as pets/ the owner could do whatever they wanted with them or sell them for their meat? If I did the second choice, do I need some special breed? I have six rabbits two were bought, one was given to me and I have no idea how old it is, and the other three are the babies of the two that were bought. Also how do you determine the gender of the babies? I hope someone can answer my questions and I will be extremely gratful.

Bunny farm, um, that brings up, to some a bad connotations,

That said, find your local Future Farmers of America, or 4H chapter, or reach out to local breeders (check the ARBA website, they have local clubs listed)

HAVE A GOAL,
this is important, otherwise you end up with 50 million little bunnies and have neighbors calling the county to shut you down, and you really don't want to end up on TV as that 'crazy rabbit girl'

if you do small breed, good for dog food, some breeds hair, mostly your money will come from selling them as pets, expect $5-15 a head, and only moving them maybe 2-4 at a time, a shown winner might bring $100 from another breeder or rabbit fancier, if you can sell directly to the pet wanter, you can get 25-50 (25 for rabbit, 25 for pedigree)

For meat rabbits, many people have what they call 'meat mutts' where they have mixed larger breeds to get what they want out of a meat rabbit, BUT most also maintain their purebred lines.