Raise Meat Rabbits

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello- I am excited to join your forum. I have been raising meat rabbits for several years. I am losing weaned babies when older. I keep them with mama until 6-7 weeks old. I take mama out of the cage and leave the litter together for another 2 weeks. Then I separate them into 2-3 in a cage depending how the litter rounds out to keep siblings together. I move them to another building at this time. Anywhere between 3days to 2 weeks after some of them get sick. I give them all probiotics when moved. I give sick ones Simethicone which some make it and some do not😞 I give them free choice hay and pellets. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

post weaning I would expect close to 100% survival. I suspect you have a problem with a "bug" or a contaminant--mold/mildew in the building or the water system, since I assume you are using the same food as previously. Have you ever opened one of them up to see what organs might be involved?

post weaning I would expect close to 100% survival. I suspect you have a problem with a "bug" or a contaminant--mold/mildew in the building or the water system, since I assume you are using the same food as previously. Have you ever opened one of them up to see what organs might be involved?
Another thing I haven’t mentioned is I have kept some of the litters in the same building they were born in and some get sick also, but I haven’t lost any of them. It’s the same symptoms.