Questions, :)

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Legacy Lane

Reaction score
Hi, I am a newbie to this site but not to raising rabbits. I raised and bred them for almost ten years; I was in elementary school at the time. I done everything myself and paid for everything, I sold my babies at $15 and made a good profit. I ended up getting out of them when my pet and buck was stolen. I am now married and have a young son, and living in my parents basement. We have bought a property and a trailer. YAY! Anyways money will be tight when we move out. I raise goats, and plan to fatten 1-2 up for meat. I was joking with my mom about getting rabbits again, then decided it might be a good idea, so I started researching. And that had lead me here. I am interested in raising rabbits for our meat. Is raising rabbits cheaper then buying beef from a store ? I have all the cages, feeders, waters, and since I raise goats hay won't be in the price either. I would probably buy 2 does and a buck to start. So just pellets, which around here 50 pounds is ALWAYS under $15 a bag normally $10. So pretty much; is breeding rabbits solely for the purpose of feeding your family cheaper then buying beef from a store ? (I would still buy some beef).

Thanks so much!

Also: do you find that raising them on "pasture" (movable tractors) is better then in cages (for growth rate)?
What about having the does living together? verses every one has their own cage ?
How do you butcher ?

:welcomewagon: Welcome to RabbitTalk, Legacy Lane!!

Is raising rabbits for meat cheaper than buying beef at the store?

YES. I count consumables only (food) for my rabbits, and don't count one-time investments like cages or even a shed to put them in.