Questions about Kits and Mother

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sully022

Reaction score
Hi All,

I have a couple questions as I am new to rabbits and if you have time to throw in some input I would appreciate it.

1. I have a pure californian rabbit that had 7 kits. They were born on May 29th so only a little over 3 weeks old. It seems like all of them are going after the moms pellets and are eating the grass that we put in for the mom. Is this okay it seems a bit early from what I have read but not sure how to prevent it except remove the mother and feed her in another cage and then put her in with babies for stretches to nurse. Any thoughts on this?

2. She seems to be getting annoyed with a few of them and how they chase her around constantly trying to latch on. This might only be occurring on a smaller basis that I observed or may be happening all the time. I left the nesting box in even though none of the kits are in there so she would have a place to escape the them on top of the nesting box. However a couple of kits seemed to have claimed the top of the box for themselves so she doesn't have any real way to escape them. I read that if she is ready to be done nursing them she will get more aggressive toward them. Have any of you experienced this?

Any other thoughts on this would be great.

Thanks all,

Sully