Problem with Kit Size

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lilybuns

Reaction score
Hi Guys! Just looking for a little bit of advice.

I am new to rabbit breeding and just wanted a little bit of advice about one of my does first litter.

I bred her a couple of months back with my buck (her first litter) and she gave birth to 3 dead babies outside of her nest box, they were in her litter tray when I went to check on her. They appeared very large to me compared to my other does successful litters.
She is absolutely fine and back to her normal self but I wasn't sure if it is safe to rebreed her? I can't seem to get any solid word on this and I do not want to cause unnecessary stress or harm to her and potential kits again and would be more than happy to neuter her but I just wanted to see if anybody has had experience?

All of my rabbits are mini lops and I know each of them between 4 and 5 generations back.
They are all health checked regularly and up to date with vaccinations etc.
I also understand it's quite controversial to breed, however, I do take full responsibility for my rabbits and have plenty of space to keep babies etc.

I hope everyone's day is going well!

Hi Guys! Just looking for a little bit of advice.

I am new to rabbit breeding and just wanted a little bit of advice about one of my does first litter.

I bred her a couple of months back with my buck (her first litter) and she gave birth to 3 dead babies outside of her nest box, they were in her litter tray when I went to check on her. They appeared very large to me compared to my other does successful litters.