Pregnant or Not

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bugzy4Lady

Reaction score
I have been raising meat rabbits for about 8 months now (true greenhorn) and the one thing that I find frustrating is trying to tell whether or not a doe is expecting. I have tried and tried to feel if a doe has "little" marbles after about 10 days-still have never felt anything in a doe. I have tried placing the doe back in with the buck to see if she has an attitude with him-no luck. I was wondering if anyone else has an easier or better method of determining this. It just seems sooo frustrating to wait 35 days and then no buns! Can you tell by their weight or by how much they eat? I bred two does two weeks ago, one has gained 1/2 lb so far and is eating like a real pig these days the other one is not. Also the one who is not eating more is only 7 months old. Any advice is truly welcomed. :?

Really, the best way to tell is to learn to palpate. The more you do it, the better you will get. Take a look at this....

http://arba.net/PDFs/palpation.pdf

It was very helpful to me. Also, just palpating open does and bucks even will give you a feel for what NOT PREGNANT feels like, and make it easier for you to tell when someone IS pregnant!

OneAcreFarm":4m6hb8v9 said:
Really, the best way to tell is to learn to palpate. The more you do it, the better you will get. Take a look at this....

http://arba.net/PDFs/palpation.pdf

I'll have to check dates, but I think I have a couple of bred maiden does to try this with, and plenty of open ones to compare them to as well.