Please help!

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Typykal

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I've been lurking here for awhile but until now have very much enjoyed the reading, but really lacked anything to post.

I'm new to the rabbit hobby and we recently had our first litter of babies. All went very well and they are now 7 weeks old (5 gorgeous little kits). Our doe was a great mother - but I could tell they were starting to get on her nerves for the last week. All were eating and drinking like champs on their own so I figured it was about time to wean them anyway and give mama a break. I moved the babies to another cage on their own on Wednesday evening.

All was fine yesterday, mom ate well and drank well and seemed happy to have her cage to herself again.
A few hours ago I headed back out to check on everyone and while checking on Mom I noticed she looked a bit pudgy, so I took her out and examined her to find that all of her nipples were very enlarged.

They weren't hard or discolored, no discharge and she seems fine otherwise.
Thinking she needed to nurse I put a few of her kits back in with her and that did the trick - the nipples they nursed on have flattened back out and are normal again.

But now after a few hours I've been reading and all these horror stories about mastitis and losing the kits to infection from the doe...and frankly, I'm now terrified that I may have made a huge mistake that may cost me my babies... I had never heard that I should have weaned these guys one by one until I started researching the whole mastitis issue today.

Can anyone tell me if I should be worried??? Am I just being paranoid??? Is there anything I can do at this point?

I'm driving myself crazy over this...I feel horrible.
Any advice you can offer would be greatly appreciated.