Pedigree question

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jolene09

Reaction score
I just bought a pedigreed red New Zealand doe, and I have a NON pedigreed white New Zealand buck. I plan to get a pedigreed red buck later on. But if I was to breed my ped red doe to my non ped white buck. Would the babies be able to have a partial pedigree? Or how does that work? I’m still a newbie when it comes to pedigreed rabbits. Is there even a thing as a partial pedigreed? TIA

I just bought a pedigreed red New Zealand doe, and I have a NON pedigreed white New Zealand buck. I plan to get a pedigreed red buck later on. But if I was to breed my ped red doe to my non ped white buck. Would the babies be able to have a partial pedigree? Or how does that work? I’m still a newbie when it comes to pedigreed rabbits. Is there even a thing as a partial pedigreed? TIA
A pedigree is simply a list of ancestors. All pedigrees are in a sense partial, since no matter how good your records are, you can't possibly list every rabbit in your rabbit's history. :ROFLMAO:

But a "full pedigree" is ultimately defined by the requirements to register the rabbit in the ARBA studbook. To register a rabbit, it must be 6 months or older and have reached minimum senior weight for its breed, and it must have no general or breed-specific disqualifications. It must also have a complete three-generation pedigree, with all ancestors being the same breed. The information must include name and/or ear tattoo, variety (color), and an adult weight for each animal. Don't forget to include weights for all animals on the pedigree!

Note that a rabbit does not have to be registered with the ARBA to be considered a pedigreed purebred.