Pasteurella....I've never done this before!

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

-HRanchito

Reaction score
My litter of kits will be three weeks old on Tuesday - and mom has white boogers! OH NOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

At this point, the plan is to call the vet tomorrow and hook up some Baytril or other antibiotic for mom. I think i'll move her someplace else, and clean up the original cage and keep the kits there as soon as it makes sense for them to stop nursing.

Will they be okay at three weeks? They've been chowing down on hay and a few have gotten the hang of pellets, but i'm not really sure. I'm all for breeding for good immune systems...but can't pasteurella totally wipe out kits - good immune system or no? Can you give the antibiotics to the kits, if they start to show symptoms? Would it be stupid to do that as a preventative? Between mama and my screwtail doe, my breeding program is starting to look pretty sparse. I really don't want to lose this whole litter.

If Mom gets better on the antibiotics, I suppose I could sell her as a wooler, but I don't want anyone to have a wooler that needs medication to get by, so I guess I'll eat her if it doesn't work out. :cry: (and we were really starting to get along!)<br /><br />__________ Sun Jun 17, 2012 10:55 am __________<br /><br />ugh, so conflicted about what to do. Went to check on her again and she seems fine - paws not matted. I have some ciprofloxacin tablets left over from a prescription for my dog. Looks like I have enough for a round to last about 2 weeks if I listen to google.

I'm pretty sure it's Pasteurella multocida...Now remembering the breeder mentioning putting down a rabbit for abcesses. That's the strain for abcesses too, right? Should have noticed the red flag!