Overweight Junior

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RabbitsOfTheCreek

Netherland Dwarf Breeder & Well-known Member
Reaction score
I have a 4-5 month old Doe that I'm taking to a show next in two weeks, she was looking a little big so I weighed her and she's 2 LBS 4 OZ, which is a little higher than even an adult Netherland should be
She (and all the rabbits) have unlimited pellets (I've never had a rabbit get overweight from eating too much, and she never even empties the food bowl) and technically 'unlimited' hay that's refilled every two days (I'm currently using both Timothy and Alfalfa (I think))
I guess I could try limiting her pellets but I've never done that before and if that's not the issue then I wouldn't want anything bad to happen and I'm sure I could limit down how much hay she gets

I wouldn't be so worried about this normally but the entries for the show have already been turned it and I entered her as a Junior

Last edited:
I doubt she will lose enough in a week to make weight (unless she is really close), but I would evaluate her body condition and go from there. Is her frame bigger or is she carrying extra padding over her ribs, spine and hip bones, relative to her littermates?

If it is the former, then she is just not meeting breed standard, and there is nothing to do for it but admit she isn't quite what you hoped. If she is a little pudgy you can taper her feed by reducing her pellets significantly. It still might not help for this show, but may help for the next one.

I doubt she will lose enough in a week to make weight (unless she is really close), but I would evaluate her body condition and go from there. Is her frame bigger or is she carrying extra padding over her ribs, spine and hip bones, relative to her littermates?
I'll check later today if I remember, and she has no Littermates