Oral ivermectin before kindling

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mama583

Reaction score
I couldn't fine a thread on this with my exact situation. I have a first time mom who should be kindling in a couple days or so. She was quiet, more than usual, this morning and hasn't finished her meal for a couple days which is odd for her. I assume it may be because she is close to due date but while looking over her more closely she may be in early stages of ear mites. Just very small dark color in the inner most visible parts of her ear and I did see her scratch her ear once. I posted in this forum because we will plan to process her kits eventually. This is my first year keeping meat rabbits and I have successfully treated one buck with a small bit of oral ivermectin and his ears started clearing the next day and look great now. I am just not sure how to proceed since she is currently pregnant and we do plan to have bunny burgers later with the kits.

I would wait if you can, until her kits are weaned. I try to avoid adding any unnecessary stress to bred does. Olive Oil rubbed into her ear might be effective until she has weaned her kits also.
I would also avoid ivermectin, not because I think it's dangerous but because oil is a really easy and effective way to get rid of ear mites. It's an especially quick remedy if you catch the situation early, like you have.

You can use olive oil, sweet oil or even mineral oil. Just let a drop or two fall into the ear canal, then massage it gently for a little while to coat everything in there. The oil coats the mites and suffocates them. It will tickle and the rabbit will shake its head and try to clean it out, but it should work. I have had to resort to ivermectin for fur mites, but never ear mites.