Newbie to forum/ Silver Fox question

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lemonthyme

Reaction score
Hello! I am a newbie to this forum but have been lurking for awhile soaking up all the information and learning. My name is Karen and my husband and I have just recently gotten into breeding rabbits for meat. We have NZ/California crosses and have a batch of 7 and a batch of 6 slated for the freezer in the next few weeks. I have a lovely batch of 9 popples that are 2 1/2 weeks old. And 2 more females due to give birth in the next few weeks. I am very happy with the progress we are having.

On to my question - has anyone here every raised Silver Foxes? I have been looking on the critical breeds list at the American Livestock Breed Conservancy and am interested in raising them. Since they are a meat rabbit I can butcher any that I can't sell to other growers (as breeding stock). I wouldn't want to grow anything that would not be useful in the event I had more then I could get rid of. On the other hand I am interested in growing a breed that needs help making a recovery. Any input would be gratefully accepted as most (if not all) of you have more experience then me!

I haven't raised them, but a few years back we picked up a pair for a breeder up north, and they were just big sweet rabbits. Very docile, easy to handle, and very very pretty. I nearly kept them for myself. I also heard from the breeder that they later had a huge litter and the doe was a fantastic mother

Here is an informative link on them http://riverwindrabbitry.webs.com/aboutsilverfoxrabbits.htm