New here, new to rabbits, and a new litter of them too!

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ColdBrook

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am Faith and I'm new to rabbits. I got my first pair this fall, a Flemish Giant/ New Zealand cross buck and a New Zealand doe, both about a year old and a proven breeding pair. Since then I picked up a Flemish Giant doe but she's only 8 weeks old. Anyway, after tons of online research, I bred my pair and 4 days ago my NZ doe, Ella, delivered 8 lively little bunnies! I'm excited, but nervous and am trusting her to do a lot because I feel like I know so little. So far, so good. The kits are popping around the nesting box, fat and feisty. I guess I'll learn as we go. I just wanted to introduce myself here.

A little about me, I'm 40 and the mom of four boys, ages 22, 21 and 20 and ..3. Yep, SURPRISE! :D Hubby and I have a small farm in PA where we grow a nice sized garden and have about 20 chickens, two pygmy goat does, two horses and now the 3 bigger rabbits and the litter of 8. Hubby will have to do the butchering. I'm still a little apprehensive about eating fuzzy bunnies, but once he's got them skinned, it wont bother me I think. He hunted rabbits since he was a kid but this is our first foray into domestic rabbits for meat. I'm looking forward to learning a lot from everyone here as I read through old posts and try to absorb everything so I can successfully raise my own rabbits to feed my family.

:welcomewagon:

Hi, Faith!

Welcome to RabbitTalk! :D

I am sure you will find everyone to be helpful and friendly, so if you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask. :) We are an all-inclusive forum, so you will find lots of different ways to go about raising your rabbits here.