Neglected doe

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jonis58

Reaction score
Hi, i am new to the whole rabbit breading thing. i was having a hard time finding a doe for my buck, there were some for 30$ which i though was ridiculous.. but i figured these people must know what they are doing to have the gull to charge that much.. anyway long story short i broke down and paid the 30.. when i went to get the rabbit i was shocked, it was half the size it should be for its age(12 weeks) had urine stains on feet and MOUTH!!!! i took the damn thing anyway but was very disapointed in the conditions this rabbit must have lived.. they didn't show me they're rabbity(i know, first sign somethings wrong) but in all honesty i wanted to take this rabbit out of the deplorable conditions it was likely living in.. when i got home and put her next to my buck, its was very clear the rabbit was unhealthy. its drank water for about 30 mins straight and her poop was tiny little dried up balls.. 2 days later she is looking much better and very curious.. she is very friendly so they were not abused, just unnourished and dehydrated.. I think the young child of the house was the one looking after the rabbits.. or not looking after i should say..

Basically all i want to know is.. is this doe going to be able to produce and will the neglection lead to smaller baby's that won't make good meat?

should i take the loss and find another Doe or should i let it play out and see what her first batch looks like?

i could have got a doe from the same breeder i got my buck, but wanted two genetic lines to start.. im now thinking inbreeding may have been the way to go?

opinions wanted
thanks,