My Holland Lop bunny

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bassdawg

Reaction score
Hi, i am new to rabbits an i am 61 years old . I wanted to have a pet bunny so i looked around an decided i like the Holland Lops . So i bought a girl from a breeder an she is 9 weeks old . I got a really big cage for her an she already goes in the litter pan .I had her now for over a week . I have her cage in my bedroom an she really jumps an runs all night an really makes a lot of noise . Now my question is a lot of times she runs from me when i try to pick her up . She also bit me . sometimes she comes to me an i rub her head . So is all this normal ? Thanks so much for your input .
Bill :bunnyhop:

Yep, sounds normal to me! She is a baby yet so it will take her some time to want to be held alot... The biting, I think everyone does it different, I just say firmly "NO!" and push their noses back a little. None of my rabbits bite now(unless I have had food) and they are almost all house rabbits like yours.

Think of her like a little puppy that just doesn't know all the rules yet... give her time, she'll get it!

BTW, whats her name? And do you have pictures!?!?!

I really appreciate your input , Her name is Annabell an i will try to post a pic , I already love her a lot .
Bill

Attachments

• The one an only.JPG
    The one an only.JPG
    198.2 KB · Views: 1,261
oh...how to handle the biting thing. A firm no, and a head hold down to the ground for at least five seconds. Part of it is learning to read bunny language as well. Generally if you come in a mid-range height to get her and you reach around her belly to pick her up you'll do better.

handle her LOTS. Don't put up with her guff. Remind her that you are big bunny. :)