Missed The Mark??

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Okay, so: I’m still new to rabbits

Today I had mated my buck to one of my does.

It was his first time, but I did hear him grunt and slump off to the side (followed by jolting motions).

I was wondering if there was a way to tell if a mating was successful?

I read somewhere to check for moisture undertail: there was moisture, but not noticeably, I guess?

Her tail was *heavily* dampened, but her vagina more or less looked the same.

Did he miss the mark? Am I thinking too hard??

Otherwise, would it be wise to mate them again? And if so, when?

"Fall offs" are usually pretty dramatic. My current buck will hop around trying to hump various portions of the female, including her head, back, etc like a little jackhammer. When the female is receptive she lifts her tail and stands on her hind feet tippytoes to lift her back end and allow alignment. It can be subtle or obvious depending on the doe, but if she's not having it she will keep her bum clamped to the cage floor determinedly and she will look like she is bracing herself to avoid lifting.

When the female does not lift, he eventually just gets tired and slides off.

When she does lift he will dramatically kick his whole back end forward, hind feet leaving the ground, and literally fall off, usually pulling a tuft of fur out of her back at the same time--it is NOT usually subtle. It looks like he's been punched, and he curls up like he's having a seizure attached to her back, freezes in place, and collapses, along with a fairly loud grunt. It is unmistakable. Even if my boy is the most extra of drama queens, I will say if you truly have doubts, try again tomorrow. You will KNOW when you see it.