Love some feedback on my idea.

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stephanie

Rabbit Talk Supporter
Reaction score
I've read with interest about growing fodder from grain for rabbits. The thread that Grumpy posted was incredible, and I greatly appreciate his willingness to try new ideas and share the wisdom he has gained from them. Since I will be keeping only a few buns for my own meat source, most of the setups which I have seen are overkill for what I intend to have. So, I have come up with an idea for a smaller edition of what Grumpy built. I'd like some feedback from y'all on it. What I am envisioning is to use a number of plastic ice cube trays with small drain holes drilled in each compartment. It would provide neatly portioned pieces of fodder for feeding. I am a woodworker by profession, and have access to all the scraps I would need to build a rack system to hold a number of trays, one above the other. With a large dishpan under the entire setup to catch the final drainage, I should be able to grow fairly efficiently. I have a couple of spare rooms in the house which I could set it up in. With the addition of a couple of grow lights off to the side, it should do pretty well, I think. Thoughts?

I think it's brilliant! :p

I think the only thing you'll really have to work on is the odd ways water might drain from ice cube trays. Just with trying to make sure that trays underneath actually get watered, and that water doesn't end up on the floor. But you can figure all that out with a little trial and error. :)