Lilac English lop breeding

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ana'sRabbits

Reaction score
I would like to breed my broken lilac English lop. I don't have another English lop buck to breed her with and can't find any nearby. What other breed could I breed her with to still have the English lop gene dominant but also get tri coloring? I'm still learning rabbits. So coloring and breeding process is very new to me

Lop ears are recessive. This means that your rabbit will have 2 copies of the lop ear gene, and to get more lop ears you need 2 copies in the offspring. I would therefore look for another lop rabbit, even if it is not an english lop.

The broken gene will show up if the rabbit has only one copy, it is dominant, so even if you breed to a solid rabbit you will get brokens.

The harlequin gene is recessive again, so @tambayo is correct you can't get there from here in one step. If you found a harlequin lop, you could breed to it, and then the offspring would each carry one harlequin gene however...if you bred those broken lop babies back to the harlequin lop dad or to each other you would have a chance of getting a tri.

I would like to breed my broken lilac English lop. I don't have another English lop buck to breed her with and can't find any nearby. What other breed could I breed her with to still have the English lop gene dominant but also get tri coloring? I'm still learning rabbits. So coloring and breeding process is very new to me
Thinking of tricolor as a broken harlequin can be helpful. So you are halfway to a tri with your broken lilac.