Life span of a meat breeding doe

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skysthelimit

Reaction score
I know I read somewhere, what the life span of a meat doe was. If I continue to rebreed 14 days after kindling, and she produces 7+ live kits, what is the expected life span of my doe?

is that a normal breeding schedule? seems pretty quick to me. i was thinking of waiting until the litter is weaned. but i am new to this. are there benefits to a faster rebreed other than more buns?

I'd think 2wks is extreme. I wait until the kits are 4-5wks, depending on the does temperament and if the kits are still nursing a lot and how much solids they eat.
From what I've read on the large producer sites and such, does are kept only 3-4 years before they are replaced. So not very long at all. Plus all that stress, can't be good.

I have no idea about productive lifetimes of does. When you're having a new litter every 6 weeks, you're asking your doe to produce and care for 8 or 9 litters a year. If she can do that without losing condition or losing too many kits that's really great. I would probably just take advantage of that situation until it changed. However the moment I thought she was losing condition or the kits were looking scraggly, I'd give her an extended break. A year of hard production (or however long it lasts) and you might only need to give her a couple of months to re-coup and be good for another round. Maybe even as little as a few weeks without a nursing litter before rebreeding might be all she'll need. I think if she's willing to breed, healthy and doing a good job raising her litters, there's no reason to wait extended periods between litters. Just my opinion of course.

ChickiesnBunnies":1i80g4f1 said: