Just finished my setup.... what now?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TriumphTriple

Reaction score
Hello all. I have some questions since I am really new at this. I have been really interested in raising rabbits for about a year now. I build the cages a year ago, but around me there aren't a lot of breeders. Sadly the only place I could find was an Amish farmer. I read a lot a year ago but want to refresh by asking some questions. Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

I just finished my stand and I picked up 6 New Zealand rabbits, 3 bucks and 3 does. They are approx 16 weeks old. They look to be very healthy.

I setup a 5 gallon bucket that is gravity feed to the waterers. I put galvanized feeding troughs in each cage.

I am feeding them pellets mainly. I will give them some veggie scraps and hay from time to time. Should I always have hay in their cages? With 6 rabbits, how often should I expect to go through a 50lb bag?

Weather.... I live near philadelphia so it does get 0-20 degrees in the winter. I plan on having a water heater in the 5 gallon bucket and maybe insulating the water lines. When it gets cold, I was going to wrap the back and sides of the stand with a tarp to stop wind from 3 sides. Should I wrap the front as well? Should I put a little wooden house in each cage?

Breeding... I read that New Zealand rabbits reach maturity at 6 months. Is this your experience as well? If so, that mean I have to wait 2 more months.

http://i44.photobucket.com/albums/f47/lightsdarkness1/2014-10-21175821.jpg

Welcome to RT!
Hay is optional, and so is the amount you choose to feed. The rabbits do love it though, and it helps keep them busy, happy, and healthy.
I have a few questions about your setup. :)