Juggling cages/colony for best results?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Permajen

Reaction score
Greetings, Rabbiteers.
I'm very new to the rabbitry caper. Please forgive any silly mistakes.
I'm really hoping for some management input regarding my setup. Perhaps the best way to do this is simply ask what you (as a rabbiteer) would do if you had all the following to play with:

1. a colony style pen about 13 or 14 feet square, with straw on concrete floor.
2. a hutch about 6 feet long by two-and-a-half feet wide (and fairly high) with an inbuilt nest box. The unit is raised on legs and well sheltered, though outdoors.
3. a commercial rabbit cage (doe and litter size) raised on legs. Well protected from all weather, though is sited outdoors.
4. a second commercial rabbit cage (buck size) also raised on legs. Well protected as above.
5. A trio of rabbits that already get along and are (so far) happy in the 'colony'. (Two does are soon to kindle.)

I should add, in my situation (apologies to pet owners) the offspring will be used partly for meat. But actually I'm interested in all ideas, whether you regard rabbits purely as pets or more.

Thank you so much for any thoughts...
Jen

sounds like you have everything you need, -if raised as a "colony" -just make sure the does each have a nest box that is a little secluded and away from each other [private space to kindle in, to help them remain friends]
The other cages can be used for grow-out for kits on full feed, or additional breed stock .
-- I might also add, that having a buck in with the does right after they give birth, may result in does being bred the first day after kindling , and that is usually, not good-- you may want to keep the buck away from the does for a few weeks[at least] to give them time to do a good job with what they have-- before they have some more kits.