Intro

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey hi hello everyone, I'm new to rabbits and excited to get started. Primary goal is meat production for my family and pets. Because I'm in Central Arizona I'm taking these summer months to make sure I can adequately climate control my shed space. The plan is to get our first trios in early October. I feel lucky to have been introduced to Nick Klein from The Hostile Hare who lives in my area so I have a local resource - it seems difficult to find a lot of good info for how to keep them from dying in our weather climate.

Welcome! That sounds like a challenging climate for sure. Good job doing your homework in advance. The only way I (a northerner) can imagine surviving your summers would be underground or with the AC set to max!

Hey hi hello everyone, I'm new to rabbits and excited to get started. Primary goal is meat production for my family and pets. Because I'm in Central Arizona I'm taking these summer months to make sure I can adequately climate control my shed space. The plan is to get our first trios in early October. I feel lucky to have been introduced to Nick Klein from The Hostile Hare who lives in my area so I have a local resource - it seems difficult to find a lot of good info for how to keep them from dying in our weather climate.
welcome. I'd go underground, but what about snakes?

welcome. I'd go underground, but what about snakes?
Yeah, between caliche and snakes underground is not a good option! I'm finding out about the soil composition where we are the hard way. And unfortunately we have some experience with rattlers - one of our dogs was bitten by a juvenile Western Diamondback when we first moved onto our place - he survived with antivenom but we were (and still are) all a little traumatized!