I'm new to rabbits & really could use help starting a colony

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Savy

Reaction score
I'm looking to start a colony come spring! I need help though!! Lots of it..lol I have
a general idea of what to do but still don't feel like I have enough
information.

I only want to house 3 does together and bring the buck in for a short
time. Maybe a week or two and then place him back into his own hutch. Do
you think this would be okay or would he be safe to be in the colony all
the time?

I'm also doing my colony outside, but they're will be plenty of room and
shelter! Right now I have one piece of the colony finished. It has two 2ft
high levels and its 7 1/2 ft by 3 1/2 ft. The top level has a completely
enclosed section thats 36x42 (to get out of the rain, wind and snow) It has
a nice wood floor with a roof and wire on the front for looking out. There
is a ramp that goes to the bottom level and its all wire enclosed (except
the back thats against the barn, its wood) The floor has wire so the
buns can graze but still not be able to burrow out.

I'm going to make two more section and add to this, 1 section will be
identical to the one I described only the enclosed area will be on the
opposite side. (facing the other one) The other piece will be like a
connector of the two sections (ground level and all wire) so it would kind of
look like the top half of a capital H once its finished. I can get you my
drawing plans of it if it will help.

I just want to be sure this will be enough room for 3 does and their kits
and possibly the buck too. I'm raising the rabbits for meat but I
do want to make them happy still.

Also I don't know what to put in there as nesting areas and hiding areas
for the buns. Can anybody give me some ideas?

I plan on having 3 does and a buck each being one of these breeds but not