I bought an incubator

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Truckinguy

Rabbit Talk Supporter
Reaction score
Well, I went and bought an incubator, it's a Hovabator with an automatic turner. I just fired up the first batch of 20 eggs today and keeping my fingers crossed. Off on another adventure! Also have a litter of bunnies due tomorrow so hoping for good things there too. Hopefully this summer turns out better than last summer and get the production up again around this little homestead. Hope everyone's doing well!

I'm jealous or both of you. I've been looking around because I'd like to have the option of incubating my duck and goose eggs this year. I've never done it before & I don't know if they will set on their own. I have tufted buff geese ]I also have a pair of white chinese,but don't want any more of them!] and welsh harlequin ducks. I'll be interested to read how it works for you.

This isn't my thread on BYC, but this is exactly what I have:

http://www.backyardchickens.com/t/93157 ... -incubator

I have no idea how old it is but they are selling similar ones still. He last used it in Autumn and threw in a brand new heating element and a thermometer. It can hold at least fifty, I think. I wanted something that could do quail, chicken, duck or turkey......I wonder if I can do EMU??

Good luck. I used a friends large cabinet incubator until I built my own in Nov. I hatched a few eggs as a test run, four out of five peeped, with one that was never formed. I'll do the big hatch this spring in my classroom.

Congrats Truckinguy and Sommr. I hope you both have lots of successful hatches! But! Don't you dare get too carried away with the poultry and leave RT for BackyardChickens. Bunny blogging must remain a priority!