Humane Way(s) to Butcher Rabbits

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blossomacres

Reaction score
I have been raising meat rabbits for a few years and sad to say, have never eaten one of my own. I have been very uncomfortable with the thought of killing my meat rabbit culls as I am afraid that I am not going to do it right and they will suffer through the process. Does anyone have a technique that will instantly kill them so that I can immediately dress them out afterwards? Can you tell me the process or link me a youtube video so I know the proper way to do it? It would be a lot more practical if I could dress out my own culls instead of driving off to a far away place and sending them to butcher and then having to pick them up again. Any advice is appreciated! Thanks!

Blossomacres":19cgmrso said:
Does anyone have a technique that will instantly kill them so that I can immediately dress them out afterwards?

I put them on a piece of a large beam and pet them for a moment, and then whack them on the forehead with a piece of box steel. You have to strike hard, but death is instant. You then quickly slit the throat to bleed them out.

Whatever method you use, as long as there is no response when you touch the eyeball, they are dead, even if they are still kicking.

RJSchaefer":19cgmrso said:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dBYv3I9cCgo

I followed her technique exactly. Do it without hesitation, and you are assured they're gone in under 5 seconds.

RJ, when I click on the "confirm your age" tab, it opens to my Wildblue login. :?

Broomstick, shot to the head or a very hard hit to the head. Just search Youtube and you'll find tons of videos.

Most people choose one of the following:
1. "Bopping" - as MamaSheepdog does.
2. "Broomsticking" - a method of cervical dislocation
3. Rabbit Wringer - a device you can buy online to achieve cervical dislocation.