how to pick up a rabbit

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
i see were its been talked about every were online on how to pick up a rabbit and i know there is more then one way to do so with out harming the rabbit im new to rabbits in a way as to keeping and breeding rabbits but had a few rabbits as pets growing up but that was about 12 years ago i was just wanting some of the proper ways to pick up a rabbit with out causeing them any harm i have medium sized rabbits so if any of you could post the way you do it i could then try them out and pick the one that works best for me thanks :?:

Go to "Rabbit Care" and look at the post entitled "Fertility and Holding Question"- we discussed your question pretty extensively there a while back.

Oh please don't pick them up by the "scruff of the neck" doe's do not carry kits like that, if they have to move them they prefer to encourage the kit to crawl after her.<br /><br />__________ 22 Dec 2011, 18:44 __________<br /><br />And if that dosn't convince you check out your does front teeth would you want to be picked up by that?

Scruff of the neck seems to be more of an old wives tale of a thing. Cats and dogs do it, why no say rabbits do to? Ignorance.
But honestly, some rabbits, it's the only way to get them up and out w/o loosing skin. Then again, they can still tear you apart w/the back feet. So you need to get as much skin area w/your hand, hoist them up and out fast, then tuck them under your arm like a football.
Obviously if they are pets or you have the time, you can lift them like a baby, hands under the armpits. Then put them on your chest, one arm under them and the free hand on their back to keep them stable.

Bramble Hedge":15pvk89t said: