How far can I take it

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

II Arrows

Reaction score
Hello all, I'm still pretty new at raising rabbits and I can honestly say I'm obsessed with it. I got into rabbits initially for meat purposes and to provide hormone and steroid free meat for my family. I want my children to understand that the meat they do eat doesn't grow on grocery store shelves in plastic wrapped Styrofoam Packages. I mean deer season only lasts so long. Anyway I currently have a NZW buck (Hucklebuck) who has definitely earned his keep. The only problem is he is a little over 2 years old. I also have a 9 month old BNZ doe (Kodo) and she too is a keeper. She had her first litter of 10 kits 3 weeks ago and only lost 1. I have a 9 month old California doe (Lil Big Mama) and she is expected to Kindle on Sunday. She was bred to Hucklebuck. My other doe is a smaller sized cali mix and my other buck is a mini rex I do believe. when I bought him I was told he was a standard rex but Im thinking that was a bunch of BS because he is about 4 to 4.5 pounds at 10 months. He and my cali mix did wind up making a litter of 3 very colorful kits that will be sold as pets.....maybe. Now with all that being said how far can I truly go with my one NZW buck, since he is my only meat breed buck not counting his sired kits. I've read a few times I can breed father to daughter, mother to son, And should never breed brother to sister. What about half brother and sisters, or cousins or aunts uncles ext ext? Now as I sit here writing this someone just texted me about a few California rabbits he is wanting to get rid of Next weekend for 20 dollars. They will be 8 weeks old by then. I think I see a cali buck in the near future. So with my current situation what is the best most sure fire way I can keep my Lil homestead rabbitry sustained with such little stock? With my NZW buck