How do I get this genetically?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mountainrabbits

Reaction score
Does anyone know what I would have to breed to get coloration like this? This buck is New Zealand/Harlequin/? cross and I love his coat! If I could somehow get this consistently I would love to breed a line of rabbits from him. What do I breed to to get this though?

Attachments

• NZharlequincrossbuck.jpg
    NZharlequincrossbuck.jpg
    62.3 KB · Views: 571
Breed him to a black NZ or a Harlequin and then breed the babies back to him. He is awfully pretty looking! And I'm no expert on genetics so my advice is a best guess.

Hummmm

He actually looks like a stained magpie as I have never seen such a faded orange in a harlequin and he is a buck after all :)

Do you own this rabbit? Can you clarify if he is orange/cream and black or if he's white and black?

Genetically a harlequin is A_ B_ C_ D_ ej_ while magpie is A_ B_ cchd_ D_ ej_

The fastest way to get more would to breed him to a red or fawn (if he's harlequin) or a frosty (if he's a magpie) as you'll get them in the first generation, otherwise breeding to a chestnut ( if a harli) and a chinchilla (if a magpie) and breeding him back to his daughters is the way to go.

Unfortunately the pattern is nearly impossible to replicate as the rabbit you breed him to will have different modifiers and could create a completely different brindling pattern

Dood":1xj24u5n said:
Hummmm

He actually looks like a stained magpie as I have never seen such a faded orange in a harlequin and he is a buck after all :)

Do you own this rabbit? Can you clarify if he is orange/cream and black or if he's white and black?

Genetically a harlequin is A_ B_ C_ D_ ej_ while magpie is A_ B_ cchd_ D_ ej_