Housing temp. too cold for young ?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dreamerz

Reaction score
I have looked over the other housing temp. threads & they seem mostly about hot temps. I'm thinking more about winter & the cold weather not to long off from now. I live in upstate NY & it is not out of the question for it to go -30 on some winter nights, but not nightly.

I am new to raising rabbits (a lil over a month) although I have always had some as pets. I am planning on moving my rabbits in to a storage room that is attached to my house, but can only be entered from an outside door. This room has unfinnished walls, so no insulation or heat. I know adult rabbits will do fine there with extra hay to snuggle in for warmth, but what about younger buns & new kits ? This room does have electric so I can use a heat base, heat light or space heater if needed ... do you think it will be needed ? The room does have two nice sized double paned insulated windows & vynal siding on the outside, so it is bright & not drafty. So what do you all think ?

In case you were wonding when I only had pet rabbits they would winter over in my house in wire cages, but I never had more then three of them at a time. Currently I have seven Lionhead (a few of wich I think are preggo) & I'm picking up nineteen :oops: Jersey Woolys on the 10th (a few of them young with their moms) ... so there is no room to winter them all in the main rooms of the house. oops ... I forgot the pets/old timers three English Angora.

Jane