Holland Lop Bucks not hitting the spot

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

michellis

Reaction score
Hi, this is my first time posting.

We have a small number of rabbits, BEW, VM and VC Holland Lops, Netherland Dwarfs, and Mini Rex. The mini rex breed and kindle beautifully and very reliably.

Our Holland Lops--not so much. We have two HL with the dwarf gene and one full-size. All 3 are between 7 and 8 months of age.

We have 3 HL senior does, and two that just hit 6 months.

The problem seems to be that the bucks' sperm ends up on the does' tails or hindquarters. We have been trying to get a litter for 3 months now, and finally got *one* litter of 3 kits out of one of the does. With that one, there was enough sperm on her back fur after one attempted breeding for me to remove it with a q-tip and place it in the right spot.

Has anyone else had this problem, and if so, how do you address it? We have a waiting list of people eager to purchase these bunnies for $100 to $200 apiece depending on markings, and would love to have more than one a month (on average) to sell...

Thank you!
Michelle in Texas

Yes, I have had the chance to see each of the bucks after they mate, before they are fully retracted again.. All of three bucks are normal down there.

I doubt you'd be able to notice a split penis by watching from afar - you need to retract the organ and inspect the tip and underside to see where the urethra exits.

Okay, I will check all three for split penis.

After reading other recent posts, I'm wondering if the issue is that they were first too young to be fertile (we started breeding when the bucks were 5 months), and then the days got too short...

michellis":39pvoqxn said:
Okay, I will check all three for split penis.