Help with colors?

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NicoleW

Reaction score
IMG_6086.jpegIMG_6088.jpegIMG_6100.jpegIMG_6101.jpegIMG_6102.jpegI’m newer to rabbits. I am wondering if anyone can help and correct me if these are wrong? Absolutely no offense taken if these are inaccurate, this is my first attempt! Babies are just over 2 weeks.
* they do NOT live in this tote lol. I use it to check them daily. IMG_6084.jpegIMG_6103.jpegIMG_6091.jpegIMG_6090.jpegIMG_6089.jpeg

Last edited:
I've never heard of "Orange Otter" before, Oranges just have lighter unders
The "Brokens" are most likely VM (Vienna marked)

These are from supposedly New Zealand if that matters. I'm aware they are possibly mixed and these aren't showable colors.

Wonderful litter. Do you know anything about the parents' colors? Is there a reason you assume the orange and cream are otters and not regular orange? Orange/cream has the usual agouti markings just like otter does (white inside the ear, on the belly, eye rings, under the chin), but orange/fawn/cream/red has the recessive non-extension gene--that means the usual dark agouti color banding on the hair doesn't happen, it's just yellowish tones with a whitish base.

Torts also have the non-extension gene, which is why they have the orange body hair, but they are also non-agouti self colored, so they don't have any of the white agouti markings. Instead, the dark color (black, blue, chocolate, lilac) shows up on the points (feet, tail, ears, face). It looks like the black tort has some stray white markings, this is a closeup of its face:
1719350384630.png