Hello from Northwest Ontario

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ice Box Farm

Reaction score
Hello every body,
I have been raising rabbits for several years now. I find it so rewarding to raise animals and rabbits have been especially enriching for my life. I have been raising mutts as a food source for my family. I got some beautiful rabbits over the years and even got a baby with one blue and one brown eye. I am here to learn more about genetics and how it determines physical and behavioural traits. I want to get some purebred rabbits. I was thinking rex because I had a miniature rex and he was the sweetest and gentlest rabbit I have ever met. I hope I can learn about the genes for fur types too. There's so much to read on this site and I am eager to learn it all.

Did the rabbit with heterochromia have any white marks?
The blue eye comes from the BEW gene, which when mixed with any other color makes Vianne Marks

Welcome to another from Ontario! There are rex in Ontario, but they aren't always easy to find, and some of them have snot issues in the herd. But in the meantime, you share your knowledge and we'll share ours and who knows... maybe we'll learn something in the process! :)

Welcome to another from Ontario! There are rex in Ontario, but they aren't always easy to find, and some of them have snot issues in the herd. But in the meantime, you share your knowledge and we'll share ours and who knows... maybe we'll learn something in the process! :)
Nice to see another from Ontario too! I did not know they have issues with snot. I will make sure to find rabbits with minimal snot issues. I was most concerned about sore hocks which seems to be a bigger problem with rex compared to other breeds. Thank you for telling me this 🙂

Wait is it called vianne or vienna? I was not sure.