Hay for rabbits

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blessed with pets

Reaction score
Hello, so I want to know y’all’s opinion on feeding your herds hay. I’m raising Holland lops for show and I’m not new to raising rabbits but I’m new to raising for show purposes so I’m wondering how hay, specifically Timothy hay, affects the body condition of a rabbit and if y’all feed it or don’t feed it and why. IMG_8804.jpegAnd just a peek at my new project bun Apollo 🤍

I go with Illinois grass hay square bales. I don't give my Cali/Rex cross kits alfalfa hay. 16% pellets for everyone, hay and whatever greens I can harvest for them. For a cheap grow I have asparagus beans which they seem to really like. They grow vertically.

I don't agree that rabbits always need hay if they are fed an appropriate pellet.

Over my years of raising rabbits I've heard

From the show people: If you feed hay or grass you won't have rabbits in quality condition for showing. It's easiest if you feed a hay free diet to maintain them in peak condition.

From the pet people: If you don't feed hay your rabbits will die!

Hogwash I say to both DEPENDING ON YOUR HERD and how it has adapted to your method of feeding. THIS is the key. Every rabbit herd adapts to how the owner feeds them. I know some herds that are fed beef cow hay and pellets and thrive. Others that are fed calf starter, grains, straw and a bit of pellets and thrive. Some that are fed pellets only ALL the time. And yet others that are fed timothy hay and pellets. And starting more I'm hearing of only fed produce and hay.... but the jury is still out on them as it's fairly new here.