Growing Orchard Grass/Timothy

Rabbit Talk  Forum

Help Support Rabbit Talk Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

feraltydreaming

Reaction score
Good afternoon, everyone.

Last Fall, I seeded a 10x10 ft plot of orchard grass and timothy. This was my first attempt at growing grass intended for hay, so I have a few questions.

1. When do I need to harvest this "crop" to ensure that I get the optimal amount of nutrients as hay?
2. Do I need to feed this mix to the rabbits as grass or can I feed it as hay? I was hoping to feed it as hay.
3. How will I know when to harvest this "crop" a second or third time?

Both the orchard grass and timothy are about 2 ft tall right now.

As I said, I have never done anything like this before, so please forgive my newbieness *laughs*.

I am currently feeding 3 French Angoras and 4 Satins (meat rabbit variety, not Angora). They are all on pellets and orchard grass hay (bought from someone). The goal is to switch the rabbits over to a natural feed mix, but I wanted to see how this grass/hay project worked first, so I am in no rush.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Respectfully,
-FD-

I'm no hay expert, but most hay plants should be harvested just as they begin to flower. In the case of timothy, as the "brushes" are forming but still young. You can feed it fresh or as hay. You'll know when it is time to make a second cut because it will again begin to flower.

MaggieJ":1qmy1rqx said:
I'm no hay expert, but most hay plants should be harvested just as they begin to flower. In the case of timothy, as the "brushes" are forming but still young. You can feed it fresh or as hay. You'll know when it is time to make a second cut because it will again begin to flower.

:yeahthat:

Thank you, MaggieJ, for your informative reply.